Bad Moves and Bad Words

Feeling Rather Alone.

 

Last night’s loss I put right on Girardi.   I listened to a little talk radio today and I heard nothing about what I felt was the massive mistake Girardi made.

From the first pitch, it was clear that Joba didn’t have it last night — messing around with curve balls, a ridiculous 3-2 slider to Sizemore, unable to get with Molina on pitch selection, bad body language . . . the whole package.

When Delucci came up, I said two things to iris before Joba threw a pitch to him:

1.  Dellucci gets a hit here  . . . I don’t even have to watch.

2.  I hated when Torre used Mariano for all those 4- and 5-out saves, but if there ever was a time for it, this was it..

It was one of those times I wish I’d been wrong.

I can’t have been the only one who saw how off his game Joba was last night.  Girardi, the Man-Genius of baseball, didn’t see it?

Last night was a game that Torre never loses.  I guess they all even out in the long run, but so far Girardi isn’t as smart as everyone was hyping him to be.

 

Spin Doctors Concert In The Booth.

 

After the crushing Dellucci home ruin last night, Michael Kay and David Cone were in a mad rush to spin things Joba’s way.

“Not a bad pitch Delluci hit.”

“That was 96, up and in.  Great hitting by Dellucci”

Guys, please.  Trying to make it sound like the ball was at Delucci’s chin and he somehow hit it out.  It was somewhat up, but not really in at all . . . a major league hitter, looking fastball, handles that pitch, often.  Not to mention that Joba got away with a cookie to Garko just before Dellucci’s “great hitting.”  And even though he masqueraded as a major league hitter during his time with the Yankees, Dellucci has shown in the rest of his MLB stops that he can be a decent hitter, potentially dangerous in Yankee Stadium.

It was embarrassing, honestly.  But embarrassing is a specialty of YES broadcasts.

 

Wrong Again.

 

Gonzalez was sent to AAA and Ensberg was kept with the Yankees.  Poor decision . . . I am hoping that it was a technicality/options kind of thing, but the YES folks talking about what a tough call it was for Girardi lead me to believe otherwise.

It should not have been a tough call.  Gonzalez plays great defense and actually hit when he was with the big club, something Automatic Outberg hasn’t managed yet.

Leave a comment